Department of History Images Source: Minnesota Historical Society

Faculty & Staff


Jason Eden

Jason Eden
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Research and teaching interests: Atlantic World History, Early American History, Religious History, American Indian History

E-Mail: jeeden@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 274
Telephone: (320) 308-4935

Robert W. Galler

Robert W. Galler
Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Research and teaching interests: American Indian history, U.S. history; American Indian history, American West, History/Social Studies Education

E-Mail: rwgaller@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 277
Telephone: (320) 308-4902

Mary (Betsy) Glade

Mary (Betsy) Glade
Ph.D., University of Colorado
Research and teaching interests: Nineteenth-century Southern women’s and family history; the Founding Period of the U.S. Constitution; the emergence of Wicca in the twentieth century; nineteenth-century U.S. history, especially the Civil War and Reconstruction; U.S. women’s history (all eras), Democratic Citizenship

E-Mail: beglade@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 283
Telephone: (320) 308-2004

John L. Harvey

John L. Harvey
Ph.D, Pennsylvania State University
Research and teaching interests: Modern France and Germany; transatlantic exchanges, nineteenth and twentieth-century intellectual and cultural history; historiography, historical methods; Holocaust and genocide studies, social history of warfare

E-Mail: jlharvey@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 279
Telephone: (320) 308-4115
Curriculum Vitae

Donovan Hofsommer

Donovan Hofsommer
Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Research and teaching interests: Transportation history; U.S. history 1865-1950, American West, Minnesota, public history

E-Mail: dlhofsommer@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 276
Telephone: (320) 308-4906

Mark Jaede

Mark Jaede
Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
Research and teaching interests: U.S. Early Republic; Latin America, race, religion, slavery

E-Mail: mgjaede@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 278
Telephone: (320) 308-5656

Marie Seong-Hak Kim

Marie Seong-Hak Kim
Ph.D., University of Minnesota; J.D., University of Minnesota Law School
Research and teaching interests: Early Modern France, Reformation, comparative legal history, East Asian law and history

E-Mail: mkim@stcloudstate.edu
Web: http://web.stcloudstate.edu/mskim/
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 282
Telephone: (320) 308-4100

Jeffrey A. Mullins

Jeffrey A. Mullins
Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins University
Research and teaching interests: Eighteenth and nineteenth-century America, cultural and intellectual history, race in the Americas, social reform movements; science, medicine, and the body; history of education; methodology and historiography

E-Mail: jamullins@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 281
Telephone: (320) 308-6134

Peter Nayenga

Peter Nayenga
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Research and teaching interests: Africa, imperialism

E-Mail: pnayenga@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 272
Telephone: (320) 308-2003

John Ness

John Ness
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Research and teaching interests: Early Modern China/Ming Southwestern China, cross-cultural interactions; Modern China, Modern Japan, East Asian culture, world history

E-Mail: jpness@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 273
Telephone: (320) 308-4833

Maureen O'Brien

Maureen O'Brien
Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Research and teaching interests: Ancient World (Greek and Roman), Medieval Europe, Near/Middle East, Methods and Historiography, Ecclesiastical History, Muslim/Jewish/Christian Relations

E-Mail: mmobrien@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 280
Telephone: (320) 308-4985

Barbara Ringstrom
Office Manager

E-Mail: bwringstrom@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 283
Telephone: (320) 308-3165

Mary Wingerd

Mary Wingerd
Ph.D., Duke University
Research and teaching interests: Race in frontier Minnesota, urban and community history, immigration, ethnicity, and class

E-Mail: mcwingerd@stcloudstate.edu
Office: Stewart Hall, Room 275
Telephone: (320) 308-4905


Untitled Document